Quick Tips: Divorce in Mississippi

mississippi child support, mississippi divorce, quick tips

Stay Local

Getting a divorce in Mississippi can be a strict process. It can certainly seem overwhelming, but this quick breakdown will provide you with peace of mind. Before initiating the divorce process, at least one spouse must be a Mississippi resident for 6 months. When those six months pass, the next step will be to file the divorce at the county you reside in. Say goodbye to long lines at the state capital offices; no commute is needed as everything can be done locally.


Whose Fault?

Thanks to the new policy, Mississippi is a mixed-state, so one can use either no-fault or fault grounds for the court cases. No-fault divorce means the spouse that files for divorce does not need to prove “fault” or marital misconduct against the other spouse. While picking no-fault can serve for a friendlier separation and equal division of child custody and division court cases, choosing the fault grounds to file a divorce may lead to certain advantages. The court may rule you in favor due to the other spouses’ misbehavior. This advantage may range from seeing your child more to getting better alimony or share of property. A few examples of faults deal with the spouse abusing substances, committing adultery, impotency, incarceration, and treating the other spouse inhumanely.


The Math Involved

Who thought mathematics would enter our lives again after leaving school? The Mississippi Child Support law uses the Percentage of Income Formula, which calculates how much the non-custodial parent must pay in regard to how much income he or she makes. Not sure what that looks like? Check out this calculator that measures every state’s child support dues.

However, remember that courts will continue on a case-by-case basis to see if the child will have enough funds for school, medical, and other expenses. Due to the emphasis on case-by-case method by the courts, it would be wise to contact a network of family lawyers to ensure your financial security.


Need some assistance?

With all these future expenses, managing child support may prove difficult for years. In Mississippi, child support ends when your child turns 21 years of age. SupportPay can help here – we make it easier than ever to pay, track and manage child support – and make it so that you aren’t stuck with fines or additional penalties because you pay on time through our automated system. For more information on how to manage child support the right way in Mississippi, check out our resources:
Learn More

Previous ArticleNext Article